Hybrids, Crossbreeds, and Mixed breeds?

What’s the difference?

Napoleon Dynamite’s favorite Crossbreed.

When we breed animals, be it chickens, dogs, fish, or pheasants, we’re bound to run into terms like Hybrid, Crossbreed, and Mix-breed.

Unfortunately, clarity is oft forsook for convenience and one such occasion took place in the realm of these 3 terms. Barely anyone knows what they mean!

To add to the confusion, the biologist’s definition is different than the domestic animal cultivator’s definition, but the latter only is the topic of this post.

So, what’s the difference?

  1. Hybrid
The Amberlink is a Hybrid.

The Hybrid different than the other three terms because it is the result of mixing at least three different species or breeds of animals. For instance, the Amberlink is a hybrid, because the standard has parentage from Rhode Island Reds, Rhode Island Whites, and White Plymouth Rocks, all of which are distinct breeds of chickens.

For the record, Hybrids more usually are selected and evolved by breeders more than Crossbreeds. For instance, the Amberlink, again, was selected over generations to lay more eggs, and be more hardy.

In the dog industry this definition has fallen in favor of the idea that a hybrid is a cross between species (like a wolf-dog).

2. Crossbreeds

The Rhode Island Blue is a Crossbreed

The Crossbreed is very simple. It is a mix between two, and only two breeds or species. The Rhode Island Blue, for you chicken fans, is a Crossbreed between the Rhode Island Red and the Australorp.

A Cockapoo (Cocker Spaniel-Poodle) is a dog Crossbreed.

A cut-throat pheasant (Lady Amherst-Golden) is a Crossbreed in Aviculture but a Hybrid in Biology, so you often hear it called both.

Cut-throat pheasants also happen to be an irresponsible use of the pure bloodlines, polluting pure blood, due to their ability to have offspring unlike, say, a mule.

I also thought you might want to see this… Guinea Hen – Chicken Crossbreed:

It looks like a hawk.

For the record, the Imperial Pheasant, in fact was a crossbreed that no one knew was a crossbreed. Crossbreeds can cause some confusion.

3. Mixed Breed

The Mixed Breed can be a Hybrid or a Crossbreed.

Mixed Breed is a term used when you simply do not know.

Like that dog that lives in your attic… Mixed Breed.

Here’s my Mixed Breed Snow Chicken:

Mixed Breed!

I have my suspicions (Australorp x Leg Horn???) but I really don’t know (plz comment if you know or have a good hypothesis, I’m rather curious).

Conclusion

Crossbreeds, Hybrids, and Mixed Breeds are three different and distinct concepts, and now you have my permission to have an informed conversation using the CORRECT avicultural terms!

Questions, Thoughts or Concerns? Epic Reeves x Ringneck Pheasant would like you to comment below!

Published by Hiram Means

Farmer, farm-enthusiast, and farm blogger. Especially when those things involve quail.

Join the Conversation

15 Comments

  1. Hybrid, Crossbreed, and Mix-breeds. Oh my!

    My mind is a buzz !

    At first, I thought , so what ?
    Then I realized, my lack of thinking this through was the reason it seemed so confusing ! As you explained it, I now see the importance of doing it well (and the harm of ignorance!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m more familiar with dog breeds and Hybrid, Crossbreed, and Mix-breeding have all both wrecked havoc! Is anything true or pure?
    On the other hand, I’m delighted with my dog, Oreo. He is officially classified as a “Puggle”. But if you have met him, you would disagree!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oreo’s breeding history may have be misrepresented – see my comment about “untrustworthy” in lady blog. This is a prefect example. In the near future , the blockchain will have the information and fibbing will pointless.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. “Hi! I’m a Ringneck Pheasant and I would like to comment. Were there Pheasants on Noah’s Ark? Did we exist distinct from , say, chickens?
    How have we changed since then ?
    Do me a favor… when you tour the Ark Exhibit, please ask the docent ! They have much research on bariums and frankly , too much attention is put on doves and ravens! Ask about my ancient brothers! The ducks and chickens want to know too ! Thanks!”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. For the record, I find the definitions unsatisfactory. However, I do not get to make up my own distinctions.

    If I were to decide, Hybrid would be cross species breeding, like a Mule, or Cut Throat Pheasant.

    Crossbreed would be a 2 way cross between species, and mixed breed would be a mix of three or more in species variations.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started